SAN DIEGO CITY-COUNTY REINVESTMENT TASK FORCE



Bylaws of the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force

I. Frequency of Meetings:

The meetings of the RTF will be held monthly at a time and place decided upon by the Co-Chairs.

II. Responsibilities of membership of the Reinvestment Task Force:

Members of the RTF are responsible for attending meetings of the full Task Force and workgroups to which they belong. If a member is unable to attend a meeting, they may send an alternate from their organization. Absence from more than two Task Force meetings a year will be grounds for reconsideration of the appointment.

III. Process of meetings:

RTF meetings will follow Roberts Rules of Order, except where modified by these bylaws. In the absence of both Co-Chairs, the Co-Chairs may jointly name one of the members to act as chair for that meeting.

IV. Voting procedures:

A majority of RTF members and alternates is required to constitute a quorum. The RTF may adopt items by a majority vote of the members and alternates who are present at the meeting.

V. Duties of the Reinvestment Task Force:

The duties of the RTF shall include:

- (A) Serving in an advisory capacity to the City and County of San Diego;
- (B) Monitoring and reporting lender performance;
- (C) Education, marketing and public information; and
- (D) New program development.

The RTF will adopt an ongoing plan to execute these and other related duties.

VI. Staff:

The staff of the RTF will be decided upon through mutual agreement between the City and County. Staff will be responsible for preparing agendas, taking minutes, and providing administrative, logistical, and policy support for the RTF and its activities.

Bylaws of the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force

VII. Membership of the Reinvestment Task Force:

- (A) The RTF will consist of the following 15 members, each of whom will serve for three year terms. At the end of a three year term, RTF members may be reappointed to serve additional terms:
 - (1) One member of the City Council of the City of San Diego, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by a majority vote of the City Council will serve as Co-Chair. Whenever the Mayor does not appoint a member within forty-five (45) days after a vacancy occurs, the Council shall make such appointment.
 - (2) One member of the San Diego County Board of Supervisors, selected by the Board of Supervisors, will serve as Co-Chair.
 - (3) One representative each from five financial institutions, some of which are large lenders in the San Diego area.
 - (i) The Co-Chairs will jointly agree on the representatives from financial institutions to fill these positions.
 - (ii) If any representative from a financial institution does not complete their term, the Co-Chairs may select a new representative from a financial institution to complete the remainder of the original appointee's term.
 - (4) One representative from a city or the unincorporated area in each of the three regions of the county (North County, East County and South County).
 - (i) The Co-Chair representing the County of San Diego will select two of the three regional representatives, and the Co-Chair representing the City of San Diego shall select one regional representative. The Co-Chairs will jointly agree on which Co-Chair will designate the appointee from each region.
 - (ii) If any regional appointee is a representative of a city, they can be selected one of two ways: 1) The appointing Co-Chairs can directly appoint a resident or someone who works in the named city to represent that city; or 2) The Co-Chairs can designate the named city itself as the appointing authority, and that named city can appoint a private citizen, public employee or elected official as their representative.
 - (iii) Any member cities under (ii)(2) above will pay a membership fee decided upon by the RTF. The membership fee may be nominal.
 - (iv) If any regional representative does not complete their term, the Co-Chairs may elect to either appoint a new representative to complete their term, or where the appointee is a representative of a city, invite the city to select a replacement, according to the process under (ii) above.
 - (5) Five representatives of community housing, economic development, and small business organizations.

Bylaws of the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force

- (i) The Co-Chair representing the County of San Diego will appoint two community representatives to three year terms. The Co-Chair representing the City of San Diego will appoint three community representatives to three year terms.
- (ii) If any community appointee does not complete their term, the Co-Chair who made the original appointment will select a new community member to complete the remainder of the original appointee's term.
- (6) Appointments shall be made effective when the appropriate appointing authority submits a signed and dated letter to the RTF staff.

VIII. Removal of members:

Membership on the RTF can be revoked through one of the below mechanisms. Members can be removed for poor attendance, conflict of interest, dereliction of duty, and other reasons as determined by the RTF.

- (1) Members appointed to the RTF can be removed with a two thirds vote of the RTF.
- (2) Members who are community representatives may also be removed by the Co-Chair who originally appointed them, or by that Co-Chair's successor.
- (3) Members who represent local governments may also be removed by an action of their respective legislative bodies.
- (4) Members who represent local governments or financial institutions may also be removed by joint action by the Co-Chairs.

IX. Adoption, amendment, and suspension of the bylaws:

A majority vote of the RTF is required to adopt these bylaws. Once the bylaws are adopted, a two thirds vote is required to suspend or amend these bylaws.

At the time these bylaws are adopted, all member terms of the RTF, except for the two Co-Chairs, will expire. Appointment of new or continuing members of the RTF to new three-year terms will proceed in accordance with these bylaws.

Approved by the Reinvestment Task Force on January 16, 2014 Updated November 15, 2018