

SAN DIEGO CITY-COUNTY REINVESTMENT TASK FORCE



Minutes of the Regular Meeting Thursday, April 17, 2025, 2:00 PM

San Diego Housing Commission 1122 Broadway, Downtown San Diego

Meeting recording archived at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKqXw3C6-zQ&t=5742s.

For information, contact Maurcell Gresham, Director, Special Programs Development San Diego Housing Commission | maurcell@sdhc.org | 619-578-7485

ATTENDANCE

Present: Monica Montgomery Steppe Henry L. Foster, III Peter Armstrong

Emilie Dang Antonio Barbosa Irene Bwayo
Enrique Meza Jimmy Chen Kwofi Reed
Darren Huston for Sergio Quero Stephen Russell Adolfo Ventura
Angela Zappia Pamela Gabriel Jared Hernandez

Absent: Estela De Los Rios Sergio Quero

ITEM 1 CALL TO ORDER

Co-Chair Henry L. Foster, III called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m.

ITEM 2 NON-AGENDA PUBLIC COMMENT

There were comments from one member of the public encouraging the RTF banking members to lead and influence their organizations to continue supporting the efforts of the RTF, in addition to including Community Development Financial Institutions (CDFI) and Non-Profits as a part of the discussion with the RTF.

ITEM 3 TASK FORCE MEMBER COMMENTS

Co-Chair Henry L. Foster, III, announced that the meeting of April 17, 2025, would be Daisy Crompton, RTF Manager's, last formal meeting with the RTF. Members of the RTF recognized Daisy and acknowledged the support and many contributions she has provided over her years of service. The RTF thanks Daisy and wishes her the best in her future endeavors.

ITEM 4 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes of the March 20, 2025, special meeting were approved on a motion of Co-Chair Monica Montgomery Steppe, seconded by Co-Chair Henry L. Foster, III, and passed by a vote of 14-0.

ITEM 5 STAFF REPORT

Daisy Crompton reiterated that the meeting of April 17, 2025 would be her last formal meeting due to her resignation from her role with the San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC) which supports of the RTF. Additionally, she advised the body that RTF Staff responsibilities would now be handled by Maurcell Gresham, SDHC Director, Special Programs Development.

ITEM 6 <u>Discussion Item: RTF Bylaws Review and Potential Amendments</u>

Daisy Crompton, RTF Manager, presented a comprehensive historical background of the RTF from its inception in 1977 to the present. She also explained the history of the official documents that have framed and guided the purpose and operations of the RTF. The presentation included the history of the RTF bylaws, which were first approved in 2014 and last updated in 2018. The presentation was concluded with a series of proposed updates and revisions to the bylaws for the RTF's consideration.

The RTF voted 14-0 with no abstentions to approve a motion from Co-Chair, Monica Montgomery Steppe, seconded by Co-Chair, Henry L. Foster, III, to approve updating the bylaws with Staff returning within 30 days with revised bylaws which add a purpose section; modify the membership section; and reflect the recommendations of the RTF members. The recommendations of the RTF members included, consideration of California Reinvestment Act (CA Assembly Bill 801); including the potential participation of the City of San Diego Economic Development Department (EDD) and the County of San Diego's EDD counterpart; participation of other financial lending institutions, including credit unions; and voting consideration of the current banking members of the RTF who are regulated by the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA).

ITEM 7 Information Item: Master Planning for the RTF

Maurcell Gresham, Director of Special Programs Development, presented a historical overview of the planning activities, initiatives and accomplishments of the RTF. The overview included a summary of the 2001-2003 Master Plan, the 2007-2010 Three Year Plan (Proposed), the 2011-2013 Strategic Plan, and the FY2024-2025 Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Agreement. The presentation concluded with requesting the body consider both long-term and short-term planning options for the future activities and initiatives of the RTF.

The RTF voted 14-0 with no abstentions to approve a motion by Co-Chair, Henry L. Foster, III, seconded by Co-Chair, Monica-Montgomery Steppe for Staff to work with both Co-Chair Henry L. Foster, III and Co-Chair Monica Montgomery Steppe's office's to return with an update in 60 days with recommendations on next steps to further the implementation of the RTF Master Plan.

Comments from the RTF members addressed emphasizing the importance of researching and factfinding by the RTF body; making the proposed Master Plan available, when finalized, for banking institutions to prepare for the CRA exam; including considerations to address the digital divide; and homeownership opportunities for families.

ADJOURNMENT

Co-Chair Henry L. Foster, III adjourned the meeting at 3:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Maurcell Gresham Director, Special Programs Development, San Diego Housing Commission