Join our mailing list: 

Dear RTF Community:

Across the country and around the globe, we are seeing people stand up against the status quo and demand we reimagine our systems and institutions. African Americans have faced systemic injustices at the hands of every level of government in every sector of society. As elected officials and representatives of the people, we must answer the call to ensure we use our power to ensure a more just world.

On May 25th, the world saw George Floyd unable to breathe at the hands of Minneapolis Police. On June 1st, 2020, Councilmember Montgomery announced that that after years of community advocacy the City of San Diego and Police Department would be banning the use of the carotid restraint. On the same day, County Supervisor Nathan Fletcher called on the County of San Diego Sheriff to ban the use of carotid neck restraint throughout San Diego County — more than 2,000 residents signed a petition — and two days later it was banned from use by sheriff deputies.

The San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force was founded to reverse the wealth-stripping effects of racist redlining and other systemic practices that have undermined African American housing stability and communities in general. We are outraged that racial injustices persist to this day. It is within the power of our local governments, banks, and community development nonprofits to rectify these injustices. We are redoubling our resolve to find new ways to do impactful work and bring economic equity to communities of concern by ensuring local banks reinvest into the community through small-business loans, affordable housing development, and mortgage loans to residents in low-income neighborhoods.

We believe Black Lives Matter and pledge to never forget #GeorgeFloyd, #BreonnaTaylor, #AhmaudArbery, and the mind-numbingly countless more who paid the ultimate price for our society’s inability to move beyond the past and provide for the equal pursuit of life, liberty and happiness to all Americans.


San Diego City Councilmember Monica Montgomery, Co-Chair
San Diego County Supervisor Nathan Fletcher, Co-Chair