Join our mailing list: 
About Us

The mission of the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force, or RTF, is to foster increased financial inclusion and advance economic justice by advocating for affordable housing, supporting small business growth and equitable economic development, and promoting consumer education, counseling, and fair access to financial services.

Created by the City and the County of San Diego, the RTF monitors local banking practices and recommends lending strategies that benefit low- and moderate-income residents. Local banks are monitored for the percentage of deposits each reinvests back into the community through small-business loans, affordable housing development, and mortgage loans to residents in lower-income neighborhoods.

The RTF also monitors local economic data to track trends in consumer debt, housing costs and home mortgages. It can intervene in bank mergers and negotiate with lenders in the region to develop reinvestment plans that benefit underserved communities. It provides a forum for discussion of community investment-related issues at its monthly meetings, and serves as a convener for collective action projects that focus and increase investment in communities around the county.

The RTF is an outgrowth of the federal Community Reinvestment Act, which was enacted in 1977 to reduce discriminatory credit practices, also known as redlining, in low-income neighborhoods. It is funded by the County, the San Diego Housing Commission, and grants from RTF member banks.

It is jointly chaired by a member of the San Diego City Council and the County Board of Supervisors. The two co-chairs appoint 13 task force members representing five lending institutions, five community organizations, and the North, East and South parts of San Diego County.

Task Force Members

Sean Elo-Rivera
San Diego City Council

Peter Armstrong
Wakeland Housing and Development Corporation

Antonio Barbosa
Wells Fargo

Enrique Meza
US Bank

Ricardo Flores
Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC)

Pamela Gabriel
Bank of America

Irene Bwayo
International Rescue Committee

Monica Montgomery Steppe

San Diego County Board of Supervisors

Sergio Quero

Stephen Russell
San Diego Housing Federation

Elizabeth Schott

Ali Tarzi
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Adolfo Ventura
MAAC Project

Task Force Staff

Daisy Gordon Crompton
RTF Manager
San Diego Housing Commission